Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Options for running code on a smart phone

1. Dec 11, 2015 #1
    Hello everyone!

I am an undergrad currently doing research for a nuclear physicist at the University of Notre Dame.

My current project is taking a code (written in Fortran-63 in 1967 ?:)) that calculates relativistic kinematics for two-body nuclear reactions and converting into some sort of phone application that can be easily used in the laboratory.

The problem I've run into is that after looking into Apple and Android app development, it looks like a program like this (especially when it's written by an undergrad without a ton of experience in user-interface) will not make into an app store.

Does anyone have any suggestions on how to implement code on a smartphone without having to go through the app store? My thought was maybe through a mobile-friendly web page or something along those lines, but I wouldn't know where to begin implementing that.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 11, 2015 #2

Svein

Science Advisor

I would start by rewriting the code in a modern language (e.g. Java) and get it to work on a PC. There you can easily experiment with the user interface. When you are satisfied, you can start thinking about transferring it to a smartphone.

4. Dec 11, 2015 #3

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

A web page with JavaScript or PHP should work. There are multiple ways to make smartphones run your own code, but web pages are by far the easiest one.

5. Dec 11, 2015 #4

Svein

Science Advisor

I agree - but then you are left with the administrative details of getting someone to host the application...

6. Dec 11, 2015 #5

mfb

2016 Award

There are many free and easy-to-use options for that.

7. Dec 12, 2015 #6
    I am planning on converting the code to C++ or Java, but it is the hosting that I've never had experience with.