Partial Differentiation Question

In summary: Just sub them into the equation and see if it works out.In summary, the notation "x \frac{\partial z}{\partial x}" means x multiplied by the partial derivative of z with respect to x. Using the chain rule, the partial derivatives of z with respect to x and y were found to be -2x(x^2+y^2-1)^{-2} and -2y(x^2+y^2-1)^{-2}, respectively. Substituting these into the given equation, it can be shown that x \frac{\partial z}{\partial x} + y \frac{\partial z}{\partial y} = -2z(1+z).
FaraDazed

Homework Statement

if [itex]z=\frac{1}{x^2+y^2-1} [/itex] . Show that [itex]x \frac{\partial z}{\partial x} + y \frac{\partial z}{\partial y} = -2z(1+z) [/itex]

Homework Equations

n/a

The Attempt at a Solution

I am extremely new to partial differentiation, I can get my head around questions where they just give you the function and ask for the partial wrt to any of the variables but have not come across a problem like this and am a little unsure of the notation, does [itex]x \frac{\partial z}{\partial x} [/itex] litterally mean x multipled with the partial wrt x ?

First what I did was to find the partial derivatives the question asks for so done them below.
[tex]
\frac{\partial z}{\partial x} = \frac{-2}{x^3+y^2-1} \\
\frac{\partial z}{\partial y} = \frac{-2}{x^2+y^3-1} \\
[/tex]

So if it just means x multiplied by... then wouldn't it just become...
[tex]
x \frac{\partial z}{\partial x} = \frac{-2x}{x^3+y^2-1} \\
y \frac{\partial z}{\partial y} = \frac{-2y}{x^2+y^3-1} \\
[/tex]

Or do I need to solve for x and y and substitute that into the above for x and y?

Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
Yes, the notation ##x \frac{\partial z}{\partial x}## means multiply the partial derivative by ##x##. So you have the right idea but you haven't computed ##\partial z/\partial x## or ##\partial z/\partial y## correctly.

FaraDazed said:

Homework Statement