Pass math course with proofs by memorization?

In summary, the student is struggling with their probability and mathematical statistics course, as they have not been taught how to write proofs. Many students, including the speaker, failed the exam because they were forced to memorize proofs from lecture notes. The speaker questions the effectiveness of memorization and asks for advice on how to improve their understanding of the course material. They also express frustration with having to memorize theorems instead of being allowed to use notes during exams. The speaker acknowledges the importance of practicing proof writing and seeks guidance on how to improve their skills.
Doplersleg
I'm studying applied physics and I am currently in my second semester of the second year. I now have a probability and mathematical statistics course which is causing me a problem.
Although I had lots of math prior to this course, none of it actually required writing proofs. Yet the spring semester came and we were required to write lots of them. The problem is- no one did teach us how to do that and the professor is really bad at explaining even the basic concepts of the course, or he really does not care much (I am not the only one having difficulty- most of the students do, and I mean most).
And so we had an exam- many of us including myself failed. Those who passed the exam memorized from lecture notes (they told me) and those who memorized or learned from other sources failed. Thus, the professor forces us to memorize proofs from the lecture notes and he even told me that, although indirectly. And this is where I would like to ask a question:
How could one possibly write proofs by memorization? What should I do? I feel like I've gained almost nothing from this course and just wasted my time.

Physics news on Phys.org
That's a bit unusual, seeing/doing proofs for the first time in a statistics course...