Some questions on strange things in online courses

Florian Geyer
Hello there, I hope this message will find you all very well.

I have some experience with online courses, and I have found some "strange" things I want to ask about.
- First, why so many of them suggest time that is too short for the course? I will give an example here of a course I have studied in Coursera which is on vector calculus. the platform suggest that the time needed for the course is 29 hours, this is a link to the course:
https://www.coursera.org/learn/vector-calculus-engineers
and this is the link for the lecture notes https://www.math.hkust.edu.hk/~machas/vector-calculus-for-engineers.pdf .
first of all you may find 29 hours is enough, and this is entirely understandable, because I can suppose many of you have a PhD in physics or mathematics, but how about if the learner like me when I learned the course for the first time? it took me something between 250 and 300 hours, I needed this time for:
- Listening to lectures (of course).
- Reading the lecture notes and try to understand it, and doing all the derivations.
- Doing all the problems (and understanding everything in it).
- Doing some algorithms on doing the types of problems written in the lecture notes in their most general form (this of course a laborious work and takes a lot of effort and trying many things). this step is vital for my studying of mathematics.
- Trying many ways and (hitting the wall by my face as many prefer to say), and if I could not do a problem then I ask ChatGPT first (and trust me it gives me the needed insight most the time) and this of course demand that I type all the problem with all the needed steps I want to discuss and with my understanding of each step.
- If the previous step did not work, then I go to my professors and discuss the problem with them.