Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Peano axioms for natural numbers - prove 0.5 ∉ N

1. Mar 1, 2013 #1

ato

i am studying real analysis from terence tao lecture notes for analysis I. http://www.math.ucla.edu/~tao/resource/general/131ah.1.03w/

from what i understand , property is just like any other statment. for example P(0.5) is P(0) with the 0s replaced with 0.5 . so the notes says (assumes ?),

##P(0.5)\textrm{ is unprovable}\Rightarrow0.5\notin N##

i mean its alright to assume something like but i just wanna make sure that what i understood is correct. if it is why not just assume something like this,
    ##0.5\in N\textrm{ is unprovable}\Rightarrow0.5\notin N##

but i might be wrong, so in that case could you prove 0.5 ∉ N.

thank you

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 1, 2013 #2
    Since you did not give a page number, I cannot tell what property P you are referring to, but I would presume that P(x) is something like x =0 [itex]\vee[/itex][itex]\exists[/itex]y (y[itex]\in[/itex]N [itex]\wedge[/itex] x=y+1).

Before I answer the question further, please tell me what P(.) is.

4. Mar 1, 2013 #3

ato

5. Mar 1, 2013 #4