Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian

In summary, Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian is a mathematical method used in quantum mechanics to approximate the energy levels and wavefunctions of a system when the system's Hamiltonian is perturbed. It is typically used for complex Hamiltonians or small perturbations, with the main assumptions being a discrete and non-degenerate energy spectrum and no degeneracies or singularities caused by the perturbation. The process involves expanding the Hamiltonian into a series and solving for coefficients, but there are limitations to its accuracy for large perturbations and complicated systems.
Cazicami
Hi guys, this is my first time posting, I'm studying physics at uni, in my third year and things are getting a bit tough, so basically my question is in relation to solving problem 1, (i included a picture...) I missed the class and don't really know what I'm doing. Any help would be appreciated.

Attachments

• ImageUploadedByPhysics Forums1364224737.407422.jpg
    ImageUploadedByPhysics Forums1364224737.407422.jpg
    30 KB · Views: 492
Physics news on Phys.org
That's an elementary problem in peturbation theory, you can't expect us to explain everything here.
Just read over the chapter, there is a very nice formula for it.

Sorry to trouble you then.

What is Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian?

Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian is a mathematical method used in quantum mechanics to approximate the energy levels and wavefunctions of a system when the system's Hamiltonian (the operator that describes its energy) is slightly perturbed by an additional term.

When is Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian used?

Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian is typically used when the system's Hamiltonian is too complex to solve exactly, or when the perturbation is small enough that the approximations made by the theory are accurate.

What are the assumptions made in Perturbation Theory for a Hamiltonian?