1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

PhD and Masters programs for someone who looks to work outside of academia

1. Dec 29, 2009 #1
    I'm currently a third year physics undergraduate student at the University of Toronto --which is respectable as far as Canadian schools go. My marks are decent: 3.83 GPA of almost exclusively physics and math courses. I have recently been looking carefully at the realities of working towards a life in academia, and I think I'm coming to the conclusion that it may not be for me. The politics, and cutthroat competition, poor pay for long hours etc. etc. and I'm not sure I even have the chops to make it!

This is saddening for me because I really do love learning physics and experimenting in the lab. Fortunately, I've read that an MSc or PhD can actually improve employment prospects for those in physics, which gives me an excuse to stay in the game a bit longer :).

I would prefer to do experimental physics in my graduate work, and this is just as well, as it seems that theoreticians seem to be less employable. I wanted to ask if anyone had any opinions on which fields would be wise to enter from an employment perspective. I am not adverse to an engineering program that would be attainable by someone with a physics degree, and I am also not opposed to taking a few additional courses in my undergrad (perhaps staying an extra semester?).

In addition, is there much of an imperative to do my graduate schooling in America? I am open to working and living in Canada or America. I realize my interest in particular researcher's work is probably pretty important in choosing a university, but ignoring this constraint, I am interested in the difference, and the potential effects on employment.