PhD in Computational/Theoretical Neuroscience

In summary: He is very knowledgable and has published extensively in the field. He also runs a research group that is focused on computational/theoretical neuroscience.
bhachen
Hi,

I am currently a 2nd year grad student at Johns Hopkins majoring in Biomedical Engineering. I am working in the field of neuroengineering for my masters thesis. I plan to apply for a PhD in theoretical/computational neuroscience for the Fall of 2014.

My academic background consists of bioengineering major and chemical engineering minor in undergrad and biomedical engineering major in masters.

During my undergrad I have developed interests in membrane biophysics and started looking at the ion channels and their properties in neurons. I interned in research labs to gain some experience in the aspects of integrate and fire models of neurons using NEURON simulation environment. And for my bachelors thesis I worked on potential fluorescent dyes for biomembranes. I have good programming skills and quantitative skills.

Pursuing my interests in neuroscience, I am working on developing MEMS platforms to study axonal injuries in trauma in CNS. While taking courses to supplement my thesis, I took a course of Modeling in neurons and was propelled towards a PhD in the field of biophysical neuronal modeling.

I have gone through couple of posts in different threads mentioning about math, I have taken multivariable calculus, ODEs, PDEs, basic linear algebra in my freshmen and sophomore year. Though I need to brush them, I am inclined to do math. Also I have worked with non linear dynamical systems in modeling the biophysical neuron models.