1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Biology Physics and Maths v/s Biology content in Biophysics

1. Mar 30, 2016 #1
    I have a Master's degree in Physics and am planning to switch over to Biophysics and wish to know a but about the field in general in terms of the following aspects.
    I've had a few internships on Biophysics in the past and have loved working in this field. However, I have absolutely no experimental experience. I also do not have a solid foundation of biological concepts in terms of formal courses in my university (I only did one introductory course on Biotechnology). Would this affect me as a researcher in this field in the future?
    I love solving problems in Mathematics and Physics and developing an understanding of physical concepts through a bottom-up approach. On the contrary, with my experience in Biophysics, I have a feeling that biophysics has a top-down approach based on observations on experience and different than physics in that aspect (please correct me if I'm wrong). Although I do like learning about biological systems, I feel that this difference of approach would be an obstacle for me in doing research as a biophysicist and may eventually lead me into disliking the subject. Is this a valid assumption? Are there any discoveries in Biophysics that have been made based on theoretical research and later confirmed through experiments?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 2, 2016 #2
    Biophysics is a very interdisciplinary field with very different approaches taken by research groups.