1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics graduate interested in doing research in PDE's.

1. Oct 22, 2011 #1
    Hello,

I've recently finished a degree in physics. I'm interested in partial differential equations. I was wondering what I could do for a MSc, because I don't think I want to do anything in physics. Maths has always appealed to me, so I was looking for some suggestions as to how I might get invloved in PDE research. How can I find out about topics of current research (can someone point me in the right direction, or give me a few examples). I ask this because I would like to put in some applications for MSc's by research. I don't think I want to do a taught MSc.

Thank you.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 22, 2011 #2
    Well, I am no expert in the current trends in PDE research, but I will say that I know there are a couple of ways you can study them.

As you know, PDEs are quite different beasts than ODEs are, and finding general results about them is very difficult. Typically, you study certain classes of PDEs.

One way is by focusing on computational methods. In this vein, you focus on finding efficient and novel ways to numerically solve such equations.

The other way is to focus on analytic treatment of PDEs, which I imagine is done with more of a pencil-paper approach.

This publication seems to be pretty helpful, though certainly dated:

http://www.ams.org/publications/books/monographs/238preface

There is a download link at the bottom of the page. If some of the papers strike your fancy, take note of what Universities have, err, had groups doing such research. Then check out their websites to see if they are still active, or where there past members have gone.