Physics Major: Should I transfer to UCLA or UCSB?

In summary, as a college student planning to transfer in the fall, the school you attend for your undergraduate education is not as important as long as it is not a poor quality institution. It may be beneficial to consider the cost of attending each school. When it comes to graduate school, it is competitive to get into top programs such as Cal Tech, regardless of where you attended for undergrad. Having research experience can be helpful, but it is not a requirement for admission. Ultimately, it is best to visit each school and speak with individuals in the department to make a decision.
JJHK
Hello, I am currently a college student planning on transferring this upcoming fall.

I am a Physics major with plans to get a Ph.D in theoretical Physics.

What school, do you think, will better prepare me for my academic path?

Thanks all!

Physics news on Phys.org
The school in undergrad matters very little actually, as long as you don't go to a real bad college.

Perhaps find out which school will be the cheapest for you...

micromass said:

Aren't the UC's all part of the same entity? Doesn't that mean that tuition and stuff like that would be the same?

daveyinaz said:
Aren't the UC's all part of the same entity? Doesn't that mean that tuition and stuff like that would be the same?

I'm not familiar with it, so you're probably right. But you also have to consider cost of living and other stuff.

micromass said:
The school in undergrad matters very little actually, as long as you don't go to a real bad college.

So I'm assuming that it is your graduate school that matters? Then is it difficult to get into a good grad program such as Cal Tech from schools like UCLA and UCSB? Say I did well in my undergrad years at one of the two schools, with mostly A's. Would I still have a difficult time getting into Cal Tech?

JJHK said: