1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Programs Physics or math phd with engineering background?

1. Jun 3, 2006 #1
    Hi, I have a few questions about physics and math graduate school...thank you if you manage to read all this and answer questions...

I am currently studying for my BS in computer science and engineering at a school highly ranked for its engineering programs (perhaps you can guess which) and I will apply to the MS electrical engineering program at the same school, and I will almost certainly be accepted to that.

However, I am looking ahead to PhD and I am considering my options, including leaving engineering and entering physics or mathematics, primarily physics.

My current math background is fairly extensive for an engineer (number theory, LOTS of linear algebra, discrete math and set theory, multivariable calculus, probability+stat) while my physics is limited to two honors physics courses(basic mechanics+thermodynamics, E&M thru nonrelativistic Maxwell's, some special relativity and lagrangian mechanics) though as part of my MS I will take additional courses in Solid State and Quantum Mechanics, in electrical engineering department.

I am also petitioning to add some graduate coursework in physics to my MS. I anticipate at least one course (1 semester graduate general relativity) to be approved.

So - am I being realistic? If I perform well on the physics GRE, plus my strong coursework, undergrad research experience(published conference and journal papers) and very high GPA(3.9), can I get into a highly ranked physics PhD program? I know rankings are not important but.. also I have heard that computational experimental physicists are in very hot demand??