1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics PhD at 50, seeks non-traditional career options

1. Mar 24, 2015 #1
    I finished a Physics PhD in middle age, mostly just for the love of learning about Physics. The wisdom of that choice is questionable, but it's done now so no going back. I'd hoped to return to my previous career in software development, but at nearly age 50 I find that line of work is hard to get hired back into as an older person. What little I find is usually contract/temporary, so I don't feel it's a reliable option between now and retirement. My impression is also that the usual physics-to-industry routes like data scientist or finance quantitative analyst are also less likely to be filled by an age 50+ applicant, and my applications haven't gotten much traction there either.

Therefore, I want to explore non-traditional careers, and am looking for ideas. I'm willing to accept lower wages than in my previous life as a developer; 40k-50k/yr is enough to live on with a couple of lifestyle adjustments. Here are some I've already considered, though they have drawbacks:

- Public School Physics Teacher (need education degree first)
    - Project Manager (would PhD/age be a barrier to hiring just as in IT?)
    - Mechanical or Electrical Engineer (need engineering degree first)
    - Truck Driver (long trips away from home)
    - Taxi Driver (worried about safety from crime)

I didn't add adjunct college teaching to the list, because it also falls in the temporary/contract category. Any other non-traditional career ideas are welcome.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 24, 2015 #2
    What is your field of research. Theoretical or Experimental. Did you develop any special skills or expertise in the use of equipment or software?

4. Mar 24, 2015 #3