1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics undergraduate, should I change to Maths?

1. Dec 3, 2012 #1
    I'm studying Physics but I constantly wonder if I should be in Maths?
    Roughly I only explore math questions/problems. Most of the times I think of physical problems they look like an overwhelming mess which I can hardly address.
    What I enjoy the most is finding truths, not just "historic" or "specific cases", but theorems or "axiomatic like truths", the fundamentals of something.
    Even though I have a bunch of topics in mind for research in maths, I don't see my ideal self in maths. But I have basically no ideas for to research in Physics.
    What I'd really like would be something as near as possible of (mathy) Theoretical Physics. Or is this is a somewhat genius restricted area?
    What should I be expecting if I pursue a Masters or PhD, in Maths or Physics? (options, type of work or any other info)

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 3, 2012 #2
    You could always do math but specialize in mathematical physics.

4. Dec 3, 2012 #3

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

You're making things awfully difficult for yourself (I'm not trying to put you down by saying this, I would have said the same thing about myself).

You got to realize that (unless you're very lucky) there is no ideal topic of research. In research, you will always have to do things that you don't like. There is a truth to the saying that researchers have to be masochists.

You say you enjoy math more than physics. Then why don't you want to go into math?? Could you expand a bit on this?