1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Popular Physics Conferences / Societies

1. Apr 22, 2008 #1
    I'm a high school student but planning to partake in several Physics related societies in College. I also plan to visit at least one Physics conference during my high school career. The only one i've heard of is SPS which is "Society of Physics Students." However, that is only for college but I plan to join it as soon as I am in college. I've heard that American Physical Society holds one annually.

Can anyone tell me of some Physics Societies? Also, can anyone note any popular conferences that are held in the US?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 22, 2008 #2
    Hey, it's jumping the gun a bit to start planning to go to conferences now.... And how can you plan to join "several" physics societies without knowing even what organizations there are or what they do?

You sound to me like you are padding your resume/college application. Don't do that. Just work hard on your studies and do things that you genuinely enjoy.

4. Apr 22, 2008 #3
    "You sound to me like you are padding your resume/college application. Don't do that. Just work hard on your studies and do things that you genuinely enjoy." No, i'm genuinely interested.

Any one know any Physics socities?

5. Apr 22, 2008 #4
    Do well enough in college and you'll probably get into Sigma Pi Sigma, the physics honor society.

As an SPS member, you will enjoy benefits of being a member of an affiliate to the AIP.

Beyond that, I think you would want to look at some of the specialty science organizations once you know where your research interests and strengths lie.

6. Apr 22, 2008 #5

jtbell

Staff: Mentor