University of Rochester or Boston University (for physics undergrad)?

In summary, the individual is an international student who has been accepted to both Rochester and BU and is having trouble deciding which college to attend. They plan on pursuing a graduate degree in physics after completing their undergraduate studies. They are interested in the Geneva Physics Program at BU and the Kapitza Society at Rochester. Both colleges have offered similar financial aid. The individual is unsure which college will better prepare them for grad school and is seeking advice. The conversation also includes a discussion of the atmosphere, weather, and cultural opportunities at both colleges. The individual ultimately decides to attend Rochester without visiting either school in person.
TI-84
Hi,

I am an international student who has been admitted to Rochester and BU. I am having a difficult time deciding which college to attend. As an aspiring physicist, I plan on going to a graduate school for physics after completing undergrad.

I think the Geneva Physics Program (study abroad @ CERN) at BU is amazing, but I like the overall atmosphere at Rochester better as it seems to be more academic. Also, I am highly interested in the Kapitza Society at Rochester, where the professors teach graduate-level theoretical physics for a small group of undergrads.

Regarding tuition, I received a similar amount of aid from both so the cost doesn't matter. Also, being an international student, I have no idea where I will be happier - all I've heard from Reddit is that almost everyone prefers Boston over Rochester (city) and that the weather at Rochester is gloomy.

Which college do you think will better prepare me for grad school?

Any advice on Rochester or BU, whether that be about college in general or specifically about the physics department, would be very appreciated! :)

Physics news on Phys.org