Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Procedurally generated polynomial functions

1. Jul 12, 2016 #1
    I'm a programmer looking for a way to create polynomial equations from a list of x intercepts and local maxima.

For the sake of discussion we can begin with a function of degree 4. The scale and position of the curve is unimportant so for simplicity's sake the curve can always have x intercepts at 1 and -1. That leaves the declaration of one local maximum to create a unique equation. If I want that maximum to be (0,0) then the equation takes the form (x-1)(x+1)(x)(x). Moving the maximum along the x axis is simple. For maximum at (a,0) use the formula (x-1)(x+1)(x-a)(x-a) for any 'a' where 1>a>-1. Creating an equation where the local maximum is on the y axis is also easy where a maximum at (0,-b) can be given by the equation (x-1)(x+1)(x-bi)(x+bi) for any b where 1>b>0

The problems arise when trying to use a maximum not on a zero axis. for example trying to create a local maximum at (0.2,-0.2) using the equation (x-1)(x+1)(x-.2-.2i)(x-.2+.2i) the local maximum is actually at (0.256,-0.190). Not exactly what I was looking for. So what would be a generalized formula which would give me a local maximum at (a,-b)?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 13, 2016 #2

fresh_42

Staff: Mentor

You could operate with ##f(x) = a_n x^n + \dots + a_1x+a_0## instead and formulate your conditions in terms of derivatives of ##f##, i.e. in conditions on the ##a_i##.

4. Jul 13, 2016 #3
    I could, but how?