Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Proof of the Intermediate Value Theorem?

1. Nov 22, 2008 #1

jgens

Gold Member

Does anyone know if the following attempt at a proof would qualify as a rough proof of the intermediate value theorem?

Suppose a function f(x) is continuous on the interval (a,b) where a < c < b and an intermediate value k exists such that f(a) < k < f(b) and lim a→c f(a)=k ⋂ lim b→c f(b)=k. Furthermore, let us suppose that f(c) is not between f(a) and f(b). Based upon an early premise it follows that lim x→c f(x)=k; however, since f(c) is not between f(a) and f(b) this violates our earlier assumption that f(x) is continuous. Therefore, assuming a function f(x) is continuous on the interval (a,b) where a < c < b a value f(c) must exist between f(a) and f(b).

I’m really new to proofs so any suggestions would be helpful. Thanks.

Last edited: Nov 22, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Nov 23, 2008 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Looks to me like you are proving the wrong thing- and something that is not true!

You say "Furthermore, let us suppose that f(c) is not between f(a) and f(b)" and try to arrive at a contradiction.

The intermediate value theorem says that IF k is a number between f(a) and f(b) THEN there exist c between a and b so that f(c)= k.

You are trying to prove "if c is between a and b, then f(c) is between f(a) and f(b)" which is NOT true. Let f(x)= x2, a= -1, b= 2. f(-1)= 1, f(2)= 4, but 0 is between -1 and 2 and f(0)= 0 is NOT between 1 and 2.

4. Nov 23, 2008 #3

jgens

Gold Member

Here's another attempt at a proof, though it's probably not any better (I think it's essentially the same thing).