Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quantum tunnel into becoming solid iron

1. Aug 2, 2015 #1
    Dear PF Forum,
    I have no background in physic :frown:
    In http://math.ucr.edu/home/baez/end.html
    1. If an earth size object is left alone (assuming the Sun won't swallow it 2 billions year later). In 101500all of it atoms, oxygen (majority abundant in earth, right), silicon, nitrogen (abundant in atmosphere, right), in short every atom even the heavier ones, uranium, radium, etc... they will become iron?
    2. And this iron ball, earth mass, barely chandrasekar (did I type the name correctly) mass will become black hole?
    3. If number 2 is true, how long will it take for this iron ball to become black hole.
    4. And black hole will evaporate through Hawking Radiation (to photon?). Is this true that an earth size black hole to evaporate completely will takes 2^10^26 years?
    5. And finally in simple answer, what is quantum tunnel?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 2, 2015 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

In the absence of other effects, yes. There are good arguments for protons (and neutrons) to decay earlier, within something like 1045 years (see this reference for example). Even if that estimate is many orders of magnitude off it would still mean matter decays much faster than the timescale of those fusion processes.

No. It would become a ball of iron.

Much shorter.
    Wikipedia has an article

4. Aug 2, 2015 #3
    But,

And in the end, what? What about TIME?
    Supposed the observable universe become a single black hole and it evaporates away then...?
    If the universe reaches maximum entropy nothing changes, the universe doesn't have energy, matter, motion consist only space (or spacetime???), does time stop?
    In SR, we often debate about this 'time' thing.
    Time dilate, fasten, anything. No single device can measure time.