Question about computer monitors and security

In summary, my question is based on a security practice that is not based on credible science, and no one has been able to give me a solid justification for it. My background is in math, so I was hoping to get an engineer's take on this.
JonF
I have a question about a security practice that is in place at my work. I think the practice isn’t based on credible science, and no one has been able give me a solid justification. My background is almost entirely in math so I was hoping to get an engineer’s take on this:

Security is a big issue at my work. We basically have two networks that don’t ever touch each other. One is our public network that is connected to the commercial internet and has lax security. The other network is our private one, which is connected to nothing on the outside. Obviously at each desk we have a separate computer for each. The practice I’m questioning that we are required to keep our monitors at least 2 inches apart. They fear somehow information may bleed from the secure monitor, to an unsecure monitor, to the unsecure net. Is there any legitimate scientific basis behind this?

**I'm not sure if this is the correct forum for this, if not will a mod please move?

Engineering news on Phys.org
if you have monitors that are two inches or even two meters apart, and somebody can read information off the secure screen and type it into the insecure network, that's a much bigger security hole than worrying about the possibility of "high tech" espionage IMO.

An easy way to steal information from a secure network is just park a car outside the
building, and aim a camera with a zoom lens at the monitors, through the windows. That's the reason my employers take the simple precaution of not having any "significant" computer kit on the ground floor of any building...

I can't see any legitimate scientific basis for the "fear", that doesn't involve people tampering with the hardware.