Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question about proof from a guy with a highschool education

1. Mar 31, 2013 #1

reenmachine

Gold Member

Hi everyone , I was trying to understand what a math proof is or more specifically how it is presented.

Suppose I want to prove that if A , B and C are real numbers and that (A + B) = C , then (A - B) = (C - 2B).

How would I present a proof for this? Would this be good?:

If (A + B) = C , then A = (C - B)
    If (A - B) = (C - 2B) , then (A - B) + B = (C - 2B) + B (which gives us A = (C - B))
    As previously demonstrated , if A = (C - B) , then (A + B) = C , therefore proving that if A , B and C are real numbers and that (A + B) = C , then (A - B) = (C - 2B).

I am just a newbie trying to learn so go easy on me.I understand this is a very short example.Any random thoughts on mathematical proofs will be appreciated.

Last edited: Mar 31, 2013
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 31, 2013 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Since you are wanting to learn proofs, I think you might benefit from me being very criticizing.

A notation issue. You don't write brackets around two expressions which are related by an equality. So something like (A+B) = C is not acceptable. You should write A+B = C.
    Brackets are only useful when you got something like (A+B)+C = A+(B+C).

If you present a proof, then you should always give the basic axioms you accept and the results that you've already proven. A lot of times it is clear from the context, but as somebody new to proofs, you should really give all the references. So: what axioms do you accept? What theorems do you accept? You refer later to something that is already proven, you should state explicitely the result you've proven and you should state it as a lemma before the proof.

So the proof should be like this:
    AXIOMS