Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Question About Quantum Numbers

1. Jul 17, 2012 #1
    I have a question about a specific passage in Hill's book on statistical thermodynamics. I have decided to teach myself the subject, but with having taken any classes in modern physics sometimes I encounter foundational material that I have no experience with. This question should be pretty straight forward to someone with more experience:

In the beginning of chapter 4, Hill starts to describe an ideal monoatmoic gas with three translational degrees of freedom. The gas is confined into a container with volume L3. The formula for possible energy states is given:

[itex]\epsilon_{l_x l_y l_z} = h^2 ({l_x}^2 + {l_y}^2 + {l_z}^2)/(8 mL^2)[/itex]

where lx, ly, lz are "quantum numbers".

This brings me to my first question:
    What is a quantum number in the context of this problem? Does it represent a coordinate or a particle with a specific energy state indexed by lx, ly, lz?

Second:
    What does "h" represent? Judging by the equation I would guess it is the momentum in Newtonian mechanics so the units cancel out appropriately.

In addition Hill describes what is called lxlylz space. Would this simply be the set of all molecules who have accessible quantum states described by the quantum numbers above?

Thanks

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 17, 2012 #2
    The quantum numbers lx, ly, lz index the energy states. It's important to note, though, that different triplets (lx, ly, lz) can give rise to the same value of energy. That's known as degeneracy.
    It's Planck's constant, and it has units of angular momentum, i.e. kg m2/s.
    Each point in this space is a particular quantum state, indexed by the three quantum numbers.

4. Jul 17, 2012 #3