Question about RF absorbers and radar

1. Hi everyone , new to forum, but not new to forums. I am a radar detector hobbyist and have some knowledge of how radar works. Specifically and to be on point and productive, here's my question(s):

First, are there any materials readily available to general consumers that will readily absorb X, K and Ka band radar? For example, I am looking for a material such as a flexible foam or sheet material that will absorb 33.8, 34.7 and 35.5 ghz radar ? Ka is considered wide band and X and K are less wide. I have searched and done my homework, but many of the foams only absorb a certain band of K Or Ka radar. They don't do the whole spectrum. Eccosorb is one such material.

Second, regarding a radar horn ( receiver) , would it be possible and/or beneficial to either polish the interior of the horn with a Dremel to reduce attenuation of the signal the horn receives OR gold plate the interior of the horn to retain the signal captured. Thoughts? I am not an EE and just a hobbyist with some questions. Thanks in advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Student100

Student100 764
    Education Advisor
    Gold Member

Hey, how does this look?

I wouldn't mess with the horn.

4. davenn

davenn 3,981
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2014 Award

nice stuff
    I dread to think what the price per metre2 would be tho

cheers
    Dave

5. Thanks for the link, looks good. I wonder if it'll absorb higher Ghz such as Ka 33 .8/34.7/35.5?

The reason I ask is nearly 30 years ago a guy from CO developed a car bra that absorbed radar and I was wondering if it would work. He covered the mirrors and the front of the car.

As far as the horn, from the factory they are not terribly polished/finished . I understand that a smooth surface transfers RF better than an unfinished one. Is this accurate?

6. Baluncore

Baluncore 3,040
    Science Advisor

You will also need to install a thick radar absorbent windscreen to hide the seats and your head.