Questions about recommended courses to prepare for grad school in Physics

• Schools
  • Thread starter lsaldana
  • Start date
Hello, I'm currently a 3rd year physics student (will be finishing next year) with some questions about recommended courses which would facilitate my ability to tackle graduate courses. First, due to financial issues I cannot take more than a fixed number of hours in the coming year so I have to chose carefully. My concerns are:

1) I have taken classical mechanics but the course didn't cover Lagrangian and Hamiltonian mechanics, that's covered in a course named classical mechanics II. With my remaining hours, I have to choose between this or Solid State Physics or upper level math. I know that this level of mechanics will be covered in a grad class mech course but I feel a bit afraid about not seeing it before that. Any recommendations?

2) I've taken all required math courses + an upper level linear algebra course but nothing else beyond that. I've learned a lot of other math from physics classes and my advisor recommended to take more physics than math as "you'll learn the math you need there". This summer I'm signing up for probability & statistics and a mathematical methods course (PDE's basically) and I'm also taking a graduate Mathematical Physics course in the Fall. However, I feel like Complex Analysis (the grad math physics course presumably covers this) is mentioned and used a lot in physics and was also contemplating Differential Geometry as I'm taking general relativity and feel it could help further understand the subject which I want to continue studying in graduate school if possible. Are the courses I've mentioned enough or not?