1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quick question about spring compression and work

1. Nov 3, 2009 #1
    This is my first time posting, but I've done quite a bit of reading around on here, and I admire your guys' intuition/skills for this stuff. Most of you appear to have a real knack for conceptualizing these problems, and I'm jealous ;).

1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Two identical blocks, A and B, on a frictionless surface are connected by a spring of negligible mass. The spring is initially unstretched. During the interval from t1 to t2, block A is pushed through a distance dA by a hand exerting a force of magnitude FA, as shown. Block B is held in place by a wall. The wall exerts a force on block B that varies with time but is always directed to the left.

Write an expression for the net external work done on system ABS by external forces in terms of given quantities (ie. FA, dA, and/or t2). Explain.

2. Relevant equations
    Work = Force * displacement

3. The attempt at a solution
    The diagram shows block B resting against a wall, and block A being moved toward B, compressing the spring and moving displacement dA. Block B has zero work done on it (because it experiences no displacement), and block A has work FA*dA. So I know that the net work will have at least that component to it.

My question is, do we account for the force of the wall being exerted on block B when we're describing total work on the system? My reasoning is that because the spring experiences compression that wouldn't otherwise occur without the wall, there appears to be a transfer of energy that occurs (that's stored in potential energy of the spring).