Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Quick random questions to help me clear stuff up

1. Oct 10, 2012 #1
    Quick random questions to help me clear stuff up :)

Hey
    I'm studying for my final exams and oh my have I forgotten a lot of things.
    so I have a few questions, answer them If you wish and/or can:

If f [itex]\propto[/itex] a and a [itex]\propto[/itex] 1/m
    why can we say that a [itex]\propto[/itex] f/m ??

secondly, I have never understood why only radians can be used in calculus...

thirdly, I'd like to understand why the chain rule works a little better...

thx

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 10, 2012 #2

Mute

Homework Helper

Re: Quick random questions to help me clear stuff up :)

See this post.

You can use degrees, but ##\sin x## and ##\cos x## and the other trigonometric functions are defined using radians as their arguments, so converting radians to degrees introduces a proportionality factor that you have to remember to account for when you take derivatives or do integrals, etc. Radians are chosen as the standard measure of an angle because they are a dimensionless measure of an angle defined in terms of the properties of a circle; namely, the angle in radians subtended by an arc of length ##s## on a circle of radius ##r## is just ##\theta = s/r##.

4. Oct 10, 2012 #3

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

If x were in degrees then the derivative of sin(x) would be [itex](180/\pi) cos(x)[/itex] while if it is radians the derivative is just cos(x).