1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Reading Advice for a Non-physicist

1. Sep 8, 2009 #1
    Hi,

I'm a CPA here in Texas. I work in finance now and have for the past 5 years. Recently, I've developed the desire to understand at least parts of the relativity theories.

I'm not considering changing careers or going back to college, as I'm 33 and happy in my current line of work, but at times I feel pretty stupid for not sticking with math and science longer in college. I ended up with an undergraduate in Accounting and Masters in Taxation (something far more stimulating than physics - yeah right).

I had calculus I and II in college, physics I and II in high school and physics I in college. That said, my math and geometry are about as fresh as a rusted plough. I recently read the book Why Does E=mc^2 by Brian Cox and Jeff Forshaw. I was able to follow their explanation, but they didn't include a lot of math in the book, and at one point even my algebra was so rusty that I couldn't perform a simplification of some fractional radical equations (a step they said was necessary to get form here to there, but didn't bother to publish in the book).

Anyways, I'm longwinded, but can anyone suggest some basic math and physics books for someone who does not want to make it a career?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 8, 2009 #2
    The most basic book, I think, for GR (General Relativity) is "Gravity" by James Hartle.

http://www.pearsonhighered.com/educator/academic/product/0,,0805386629,00%2Ben-USS_01DBC.html [Broken]

I have been using this book for about 1/2 a year now. It is great.

Thanks
    Matt

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  4. Sep 8, 2009 #3
    Thanks!

5. Sep 16, 2009 #4

Entropee

Gold Member