1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Realistic Careers for Physics Bachelors

1. Aug 27, 2010 #1
    Hello,
    I graduated with a BA in applied physics a few years ago with a good gpa, and I have since been working here and there at various office type jobs, and I want to start using my degree for a better job, but I am not sure what my options are. I originally went into physics because it would allow me to take the classes that sounded interesting to me in both the physics and engineering department without having to take the classes I don't want in either department, now I'm starting to think I should have just gone for an engineering degree. I thought that getting an engineering type job would be relatively easy with my degree, but that is not the case, and unfortunately I am starting to see that employers only care what your degree says, despite what your background, accomplishments or strength might be. For example, I know a few mech. engineers who have gotten jobs as an environmental engineer, despite never having taken an envir. engineer course. Yet, I can't even get an interview with a heating company even though I took all the thermo courses offered in the ME Dept. So, I am wondering what kind of jobs are you guys getting with only a bachelor's in physics?

Just a note, I am now in a ME master's program, but I am uncertain about this move too because since I took limited engineering course, I may not pass the FE exam, and it will take me longer to become a fully licenses engineer because of the 6+ year experience requirement. Any thoughts?

Thanks for any discussion.

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 30, 2010 #2