Rejected from everywhere. What next?

In summary, the individual is in their final semester of their undergraduate career and has applied to several graduate programs for the fall semester. They had a 4.0 GPA, scored in the top 10 percent on the PGRE, and have research experience, but have been rejected from all but two schools. They are considering waiting to reapply or pursuing a master's degree at their home institution. They are also seeking advice from others and considering applying to more "safe schools" in the future.
Austin Daniel
I am in my final semester of my undergraduate career so like many others in my position I applied to a handful of graduate programs for the fall semester. I figured I had a really good chance at getting in due to the fact that I've got a 4.0, I scored in the top 10 percent on the PGRE, I have about a year and a half of research experience with REU's and projects at my home institution, ect. However, I have been rejected from all schools but two, which I still have yet to hear back from. With March 15th fast approaching I am afraid Ill be rejected for sure from all of them. Where do I go from here? I feel like the past four years have been all about this moment and now its like I've been told I should have tried harder... I suppose I have two options,

1) Wait it out for another semester or two to reapply and possibly try and continue doing research at my home institution and possibly publish. (Money might be a problem though...)

2) Pursue a masters degree at my home institution and apply for PhD elsewhere.

What would be the most beneficial to my academic future? Keep in mind my home institution is UNT which isn't really well known for physics. Furthermore, there are people doing research that intersects my own personal interests (CMT) but I don't know if I'd really want to hang around here for another two years. Thanks for your help friends.

Physics news on Phys.org