Removing cement-like substance from a white-cast iron

• Thread starter happycamper
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Iron
In summary, the conversation discusses a thesis comparing wear rates and patterns in low stress sliding abrasion between field conditions and laboratory-based tests. The field trial uses a quarry 'pugmill' and the wearing parts are the mixing paddles. The question is raised about the best way to remove hardened cement build up on the paddles for accurate weight measurements. Suggestions are made for using an acid bath, specifically a mixture of phosphoric and formic acids, but concerns are raised about its effect on the paddles. Other resources are suggested for further information.
happycamper
Hi all

I have kind of an odd question, it has been quite hard to find an answer for.

I'm doing a thesis comparing wear rates and patterns in low stress sliding abrasion between field conditions and labratory-based tests.

The field trial uses a quarry 'pugmill', which is essentially a giant mixer that combines roadbase and a cement (unsure exactly what type). The wearing parts are the mixing paddles, usually made from white-cast irons - for the thesis I'm testing four different types (OEM, hard-faced etc). For dust suppression, a water mist is used - however this causes a build up of hardened cement in patches on the paddles over time.

I was wondering what would the best way to remove this cement build up on the paddles would be - accurate before and after weights are required for wear-rates. Some of the paddles have smooth surfaces, and the cement can be removed easily enough with a chisel. However some surfaces (such as the tungsten carbide hardfacing) are quite rough and the cement is hard to completely remove.

Paddle materials:
1) 27 Cr White Cast Iron (OEM paddle)
2) CC1500 CrC wear plate overlay - 8mm hardface on 8mm backing plate on 20mm Hardox 400 base
3) 'Duaplate' CrC wear plate overlay - 8mm hardface on 8mm backing plate on 20mm Hardox 400 base