1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Other Research positions outside home university

1. Feb 3, 2017 #1
    I'm a freshman physics major at a small research university in Philadelphia. The majority of the university is geared toward the health sciences, so we have very limited opportunities for research in physics. I'm just starting to develop my interests in specific fields in physics, and I'd ideally like to study particle physics (I'd also like to try my hand at both experimental and theoretical research). None of the professors in my department are doing research that I find particularly interesting. I'm in the process of applying for several summer REUs, most in particle physics, but since I'm a freshman with no formal university research experience, I doubt I'll get a position. I am going to meet with the chair of my department to discuss his research in chaos theory, but if I do not like working in his lab or if I do not get the position or any REUs, should I seek research opportunities at other, nearby, larger universities? I was told to do this by a graduate student I met at a conference earlier in the year, but I fear they do not have enough space in their labs to accommodate their own students, let alone a student from another university. Has anyone had a similar experience? I've known I've wanted to do undergraduate research for a very long time and I'd really like to start as soon as possible. Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 3, 2017 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor