1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Research topics in Medical Physics

1. May 5, 2012 #1
    Hi

I graduated last summer with major physics and minor medical physics
    (minor includes 3 courses : Ionizing radiation, non-Ionizing radiation, radiation protection and a project in QA/QC )
    I work now in medical physics department as a demonstrator which is a small one with few staff

I will go after a year to do my master in medical physics
    but until then I would like to do some research or at least participate in one
    Any one can guide me in what area I should do based in my level of study ?

thank you

2. jcsd
  3. May 5, 2012 #2

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

Medical physics research projects, particularly those on a smaller scale, are often driven by clinical demands and available technology. My advice would be to talk with the physicists you work with and see what projects they are working on and then ask if you can help out.

4. May 5, 2012 #3
    Thank you for your reply Choppy
    but there is no research project going on in the department !

5. May 6, 2012 #4
    While it won't put your radiation work/study to use, there are plenty of applications for assistive devices requiring biomechanical simulation. D. A. Winters's Biomechanics text (www (dot) amazon (dot) com/Biomechanics-Motor-Control-Human-Movement/dp/047144989X) is a starting point.