1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

REU or Summer Research at Own University?

1. Feb 22, 2014 #1
    I am a sophomore physics major attending a top 20 research university in America. I have one year (including one summer) of research done with one professor at my own university (which led to a poster publication but nothing major as of yet), and am now in my first semester of work with a second professor more in line with my research interests. However, as of now I seem to be doing just odd jobs around the lab (electrical work, building devices, etc), and don't really have a concrete project that may lead to publication.

I was just accepted to a REU for this summer (at another top 20 physics school according to certain rankings) and am wondering if it is best to go there or to continue my work here with my current professor for the summer.

Pros of REU:
    -Structured and well-defined project for the summer vs odd jobs at current university
    -Good money
    -Possibly get another rec letter for grad school under my belt
    -Get to travel to a new place; will definitely be a better experience overall

Cons of REU:
    -Very little time to get any substantial work done
    -Loss of continuity at my current lab, might miss out on being assigned an interesting and potentially publishable project that I can work on through junior and senior year
    -Won't be as close with my current prof (Quality vs Quantity of rec letters?)
    -REUs are meant for people from smaller universities?