Role of classical logic in studying logic

In summary: My guess would be that it has not, mainly because, if I try to even think using a logic other than classical logic, I find that I am unable to do so without first analyzing the logic I am trying to think in using classical logic.Here is an example that I made up of the type of thing that I am curious about. Like the rest of this post, it is phrased very poorly, but that’s okay – it’s just a cheap tool that I am trying to use to illustrate my question:Somebody tells me that there is a baseball and a box, and that the baseball is not inside of
HJ Farnsworth
Greetings,

Two or three years ago I studied mathematical logic using Kleene’s “Mathematical Logic”. I was thinking about the subject again recently, and I have a question regarding what research has been done into non-classical logic.

I am having difficulty phrasing my question, so please let me know if it is unclear. Basically, I think what I want to ask is this:

When studying logic, we use one system of logic in the metalanguage to conduct our study of the other system of logic, that used in the object language. My question is:

a. Has logic, classical or not, been studied using anything but classical logic as the logic used in the metalanguage?

b. If so, do any of these studies use, as the metalanguage logic, a logical system that was not itself studied in the object language using classical logic in the metalanguage?

c. And so on, infinite regress.

Basically, what I mean is – has logic ever been studied without some sort of “final appeal” to classical logic? My guess would be that it has not, mainly because, if I try to even think using a logic other than classical logic, I find that I am unable to do so without first analyzing the logic I am trying to think in using classical logic.