1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Rotational Equilibrium and Dynamics

1. Mar 14, 2006 #1
    I am currently studying Rotational Equilibrium and Dynamics in Physics. Our class was given a competitive lab project for extra credit, where the group with the lowest margin of error would win. It is set up as following:

You will be given a meter stick and one weight (approximate value of .1kg, but this will be measured for absolute accuracy). You are to calculate the weight of the meter stick. (Correct weight - Your weight)/Correct weight will be used to determine margin of error.

I thought about this pretty much all day with my partner and decided to come here for help. To determine the weight of the meterstick, we will need to suspend the weight from a fixed point (axis), but wouldn't we need a support force acting in the opposite direction?

Any starting points on how to solve this problem would be helpful.

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 14, 2006 #2

nrqed

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Hint: you could put the meter stick on your finger, off centered and then .... (I am assuming that the meter stick has uniform mass distribution, in which case there is an obvious way to get its mass)

Pat

4. Mar 14, 2006 #3
    I was thinking sort of the same thing...maybe hanging it off a table at a fixed point. And yes, the meter stick is uniform.

5. Mar 14, 2006 #4

nrqed

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

Don't hang it from a table (there will be anormal force acting on it and that will complicate things). It has to be at equilibrium on a sharp object (let's say the tip of a finger). Then what?

6. Mar 14, 2006 #5
    Should the axis be placed at the very end of the stick?

Fw1 = ? at .5m
    Fw2 = ~.981N at .25m (example)
    L = 1m