1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Scholarships & Finiancial aid for current college students?

1. Jul 25, 2011 #1
    I live in Canada and I am a rising sophomore.

Is there such thing as scholarships for current college students? If so where does one apply?

I live in Canada and my parents said they want me to take advantage of the student loan because there is no interest because i will be borrowing money from the government?

Anyone give me some insights?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 25, 2011 #2
    Might as well go for the loans regardless. There are things like continuing student scholarships, but without knowing what university you're at, it's impossible to say whether they offer them or if you'd have to look at private sponsors.

4. Jul 25, 2011 #3
    I don't know about Canada, but most colleges I know have their own list of scholarships. Beside that, you can search on fastweb.com for scholarships. In the libraries (in the US), they also have books on scholarship. Those are good place to look as well. I personally would look for scholarship before I look at loans.

5. Jul 26, 2011 #4
    Most people get scholarships entering college, but you don't apply to scholarships during college too often (unless it's a yearly renewal). There are usually annual awards or honors that you can try applying for, but there's still not very many and it's often hard to get. And most of the time, you don't even apply for them. They're simply givento you if they see you did something great (competitions, good undergrad research, minority, etc.).

6. Jul 26, 2011 #5

Choppy

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I have to disagree with a lot of these points.