1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Seeking Advanced Text In Mathematics/Mathematical Physics

1. Apr 20, 2014 #1
    I'm majoring in physics and I'm about to take a course entitled Mathematical Methods of Physics. It covers Sturm-Liouville Theory, Integral Transforms, Fourier Analysis and PDEs.

I read in the thread "So you Want to be a Physicist" that ”Mathematical Methods in the Physical Science” by Mary Boas (Wiley) is good. But by the title of the book, I suspect it is a rather informal and easygoing book. As I am seriously interested in mathematics(I will pursue an academic carreer in mathematics or theoretical physics) and would like a book(probably books since the course deals spans a lot of different topics) that rigorously deals with what I am going to learn.

Books made by mathematicians, and that deal with the subject the way mathematicians deal, so I can really get motivated, I don't like math textbooks that only focus on practical applications.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 20, 2014 #2

radium

Science Advisor
    Education Advisor

I actually have a book called A first course I partial differential equations with complex variables and transform methods by H.F. Weinberger. It is a book written by a mathematician but is also very useful for physicists. I used it quite a bit in my mathematical methods in physics course which covered a lot of the same material your course will be covering. The book is published by Dover so I got a paperback for around $15.

4. Apr 20, 2014 #3

esuna

Gold Member

I've skimmed through the book by Boas and it seems far from informal. I've actually seen it recommended around here as a must-have reference book for physics majors.

5. Apr 20, 2014 #4

Vanadium 50

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor