Seeking fiber optics info - power transmission

In summary, the conversation revolves around the use of fiber optics for transporting solar energy. The poster is looking for information on this topic and mentions a new field called daylighting that uses solar energy for lighting. They are interested in using fiber optics for their own project and have done some research but have not found a design book. They are seeking advice on where to look for information, particularly on the web, and mention their background in mechanical engineering and limited knowledge of fiber optics. Another person in the conversation suggests looking into the use of light pipes and provides some sources for further research. Overall, the conversation is focused on the potential and limitations of using fiber optics for heat transfer through radiation.
sunbeam999
Hi, first time poster here.

I am a mechanical engineer, and I am looking for information on using fiber optics to transport solar energy.

There is a new field called daylighting, that uses solar energy for lighting during daylight hours. It uses a variety of gadgets to do this, and some even use fiber optics.

I have an idea for something I would like to work on, but need to learn more about fiber optics. I've done some googling, and looked at wikipedia, but haven't found anything like a design book for what I'm after.

It is my understanding that fiber optics were developed for transmitting signals, and weren't really intended to move 'bulk power.' I'm looking for anything that would give me an idea of what to expect if I used say a 9 m2 reflector to concentrate sunlight onto the end of a fiber optic line. And what I could expect as it traveled a route, to include things like arcs, and lines diverging to angles even up to right turns. I imagine loss would translate to hot spots as you went.