1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Self-learning Special and General Relativity

1. Jul 6, 2017 #1
    (I don't know if this is the right place to post it, but I think the "textbooks" section is'nt. So I'm going to put it here.)

I have been self studying S&G relativity for almost eight months, mostly from Weinberg's book on S&G relativity, but also from papers I occasionally find on web and from the help of PF members when I start threads here.

I'm actually in the second year at uni to get a bachelor degree on physics. I'm not getting S&G relativity lectures yet, since these are usually at the third / fourth year of the course. Anyway I don't like introductory lectures, because I find them so simple. BTW, I started learning Calculus long before starting the course at uni. When I did start studying there, I already knew almost all of Calculus. (I wonder why the same doesn't happens to S&G relativity.)

My question is, do you people think I'm too slow in learning the theory? Six months!!! and I can only derive things like:

- Schwarzschild solution
    - Most of those expressions of Special relativity
    - FRW metric

And of course, I understand some of the theory behind these derivations. But this is a litlle bit of the foundamentals of S&G relativity. On the part of Cosmology I know almost nothing at all!! When I turn to more advanced textbooks or even at uni when I talk to professors or guys which are in graduate courses, I see that I know essentially nothing, and it is long for almost eight months!!!

I can't stop loving physics. What can I do? Maybe pay for a Phd to give me lectures on the topics I'm interested in?

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 8, 2017 #2

vanhees71

Science Advisor
    2016 Award