1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Ship's officer turning to Engineering!

Tags:
  1. Jul 22, 2014 #1
    Hello everybody,

I've been lurking around this site for a while & finally decided to join. I would appreciate any input I can get!

Situation:
    1. I'm an international student in New Zealand and am about to gain a 2nd mates licence for working on board ships internationally. While I have worked for a limited time in this industry, I know it's not for me and I am looking to get more into mechanical engineering (applications in aerospace, sustainable energy & transport)

2. After having looked into all the exciting things that engineering connects to (SpaceX, IEEE challenges, emerging technologies, etc) I find myself pushing for a career change and contemplating how I would go about doing it because it involves re-education and financial commitment. I always had a passion for travel, physics, math & had achieved good results in my AP's, but thought engineering would be boring for some reason (I'm actually looking for something more challenging and meaningful now!!).

3. In an older thread someone mentioned "where you want to live" plays an important part in these choices. I also would like to work or stay in New Zealand, or to put it broadly, a country where opportunities/needs are present & the potential for career development exists.

So, how do I make this transition or jump while
    1. drawing upon previous knowledge, skills (any bridges?)
    2. being smart about financials? Biggie, as my parents and I invested a lot of money and energy already. I just had to finish what I'd started.