Should I being worrying about choosing a specific career?

In summary: There are many resources out there to help you.In summary, the panicking physics student is looking for advice on how to best pursue their education and career goals after graduation. They are worried about the costs of continuing their education full time and the limited job prospects for physicists. They also worry that they have taken the wrong path and should have gone into engineering. They suggest putting aside the idea of working during schooling if possible, and research different career paths in physics. They also advise getting started attending career fairs early in your career.
lincs_b
Hi,
Just recently I have began to panic over what I will do after uni even though I have two full years left. I am studying towards a Bsc physical science with honours but I don't think I can afford to stretch myself financially to carry on in education full time. I would love to study part time (taught masters) and get a job but even if the job market picks up how likely am I to get a job that would be flexible enough?

I keep reading articles about how sought after physicists are but surely it would be optimistic to assume I will be employed straight away? I am also constantly worried that I have taken the wrong path and I should have gone down the engineering route.

I chose physics as it is the only subject that I have really wanted to know more about but I have no idea of what I want to do after this degree. Should I just concentrate on my studies or should I also think about my long term career plan?

Physics news on Phys.org
lincs_b said:
Hi,