1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I enroll in a low ranking MBA program?

1. Nov 23, 2009 #1

Physics_UG

Gold Member

I spend a year in an EE PhD program and decided it wasn't for me. I took a one year leave of absence and I haven't decided if I want to return. I might return but I would like to find a different research group.

I am currently jobless and things are looking bleak in the job market. I am trying to decide if I should go to night school for an MBA in the meantime, which might boost my resume and it will give me something somewhat productive to do. This might help me get into an engineering management role later on. The problem is I have no real work experience in a corporate environment except for a few months as an intern (all of my other experience has been in academia) so I wouldn't be able to get into a highly ranked MBA program. Is it worth it to go to a low ranking school for an MBA? My goal isn't to become an i-banker or anything. I just want to get some basic management knowledge.

I am looking at Lawrence Technological University in Michigan (which is near my home). It is only 36 credits and they said they would transfer 3 of my graduate credits from ASU into the MBA program so I would only need to take 27 credits. Should I do it or should I just get a job, get some engineering experience and then apply to a higher ranked (top 30) program? LTU said I can start in January.

What do you think?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 23, 2009 #2
    No. It isn't. You are going to end up far, far better off if you finish your Ph.D. or if you at least get a EE Masters. The book learning that you get from an MBA, you can get from reading books on Amazon, and the culture and connections go with the big names.