Should i get recommendation from math teacher for physics grad school

In summary: Plus, having a diverse range of research experiences can only strengthen your application.In summary, the individual is an undergrad physics major with two strong recommendations from physics lab professors and is considering asking their math professor for a third recommendation for physics graduate school. They are unsure if physics grad schools would care about their research in math and are seeking advice. It ultimately depends on the school and field, but generally a recommendation from a math professor is acceptable and can add diversity to their application.
Aziza
Hi all,

I am an undergrad physics major working in two physics labs and also doing research in math with a professor. I only have two strong recomendations from my two physics lab professors, so for my third recomendation (for physics graduate school) i wanted to ask my math professor, so i would have three strong letters. Should I? Would physics grad schools care that I did research in math? Or should I just ask another physics professor who could write me an ok letter?

Thanks for any advice in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
Depends on the school and also on the field you want to enter.
Can also depend on the math teacher.

If you are entering grad-school in the same college you were undergrad, then you should already have an idea about this. Talk to the post-grad dean or whoever is in charge of sheparding students. If the grad school specifies that the letters have to be from physics teachers then you have your answer.

Generally a reference letter from a math professor, particularly one you've worked with, is just fine. What admissions committees are typically looking for is the opinion of a person who's in a position to evaluate your potential for success in graduate school.