1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Schools Should I take Vector Calculus before General University Physics?

1. Oct 26, 2012 #1
    I'm currently in my first semester at a community college with intention of transferring to a 4 year. At some point while still at my current school I will have to take General University Physics. My curriculum is saying that I should take both Uni. Physics and Vector Calculus in my third semester but I'm worried I might need the math from Vector Calc to really grasp Uni. Phy. So should I instead put off taking Physics for a semester to make sure I can handle the math or will I be safe with just an understanding of Calculus with Analytical Geometry? Also it says I should take my second semester of Physics while taking Ordinary Differential Equations. Again I'm worried about the same thing. Should I postpone Physics or will I understand it fine without those previously taking those math classes?

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 26, 2012 #2

micromass

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Education Advisor
    2016 Award

Could you give the book you use for university physics? Furthermore, could you list the topic you're going to learn?

4. Oct 26, 2012 #3

jtbell

Staff: Mentor

Assuming it's a typical calculus-based intro physics course, the first semester will not use any vector calculus, and probably not even much single-variable calculus. Calculus is used mainly to simplify some derivations and concepts. All you need is a good conceptual understanding of derivatives and integrals, and the ability to do simple ones involving polynomials and maybe some trig functions.