Simple Question Regarding Quadratic Equations (pre-calc)

In summary: I know where to start from. In summary, this person is trying to teach themselves mathematics and is stuck on a problem involving equations in the form ##c + bx - a x^2##. They struggle with the coefficient of ##x^2## when the equation is in the form ##c + bx + a x^2## and try to solve the equation by using the completed square form. They get the value of x for when the least value occurs correct, but struggle with one step near the end.
TalkOrigin
Hi, I've been attempting to teach myself mathematics in preparation for further study and I'm currently going through quadratic equations. In case it helps, I'm studying to go back to university, I'll be doing a physics degree with a foundation year. I'm just trying to learn as much math as possible before I start, and I'm working through the UK A-Level Math syllabus, OCR, I'm on C1 at the moment. I seem to be fine with quadratic equations except for when the equation is in the form ##c + bx - a x^2## instead of ##a x^2 + bx + c##

I know if it's ##c + bx + a x^2## I can just flip everything round so it's in the standard form and it doesn't give me too much trouble, but when the coefficient of ##x^2## is a negative number, I just don't know how to approach the problem. Here is one such problem I'm stuck on:

"Use the completed square form to find as appropriate the least or greatest value of each of the following expressions, and the value of x for which this occurs".

##4 + 6x - x^2##

I'm sure it's simple, I just don't know how to do it. I've tried looking online but I can't find anything addressing how to solve a question like this specifically. I'm probably just being an idiot and missing some incredibly obvious step. My attempt at solving it was:

##4 + 6x - x^2##

##4 + (3-x)^2 - 9##

then, do ##4 + -9 = -5## So

##(3-x)^2 - 5##