Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Some Queries about Eigenvalues and vectors

1. Jan 5, 2014 #1
    Hi,
    I am studying quantum mechanics right now and I can't able to understand some questions about Eigenvalues and Eigenvectors.
    1. What does the eigenvalue tell us about the quantum mechanical operators i.e. if we operate a momentum operator on ψ what does the Eigen value of that equation tell us about the momentum of the particle for which is the wave function ?
    2. I have read that if we operate any kind of operator on ψ, it will collapse to an Eigen state . What does it mean ?
    3. Does the meaning the Eigen function and the Eigen state is same ?
    Sorry if these questions are asked before . Then just provide the link .
    Thanks In advance.

2. jcsd
  3. Jan 5, 2014 #2

mfb

2016 Award

Staff: Mentor

For an eigenfunction, the eigenvalue is "the" value of the corresponding observable - here the momentum.

If you measure momentum (as an example), you get a single value for the momentum and the wavefunction afterwards is an eigenfunction of the momentum operator, even if the initial wavefunction is not.

Momentum is not a good example as mathematically, there are no proper eigenfunctions of it, but that is a technical detail that does not matter here.

An eigenfunction is a possible state for the particle.

4. Jan 5, 2014 #3
    What is meant by the "value of the corresponding observable" ? Is it means that the particle has a momentum equal to its Eigen value ?

If the initial wave function is not an Eigen function of the momentum operator then how can we measure the momentum?

5. Jan 5, 2014 #4

jtbell