Some quick advice for a homeschooled student

• Thread starter d1ff30m0rf1zm
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Student
In summary, a homeschooled sophomore is questioning whether they need to take AP exams and classes. They have taken BC Calculus but did not take the exam, and are now enrolled in AP Statistics. They are also taking advanced math classes and plan to attend NCSU in the fall. They are unsure if taking the exams is necessary or if they should get a refund. They have discussed their situation with professors and are unsure about the requirements for admission to universities and if their self-study and classes will be accepted. They are also considering the benefits of taking AP exams for self-evaluation.
d1ff30m0rf1zm
Hi. I'm a homeschooled sophomore and I have some questions about AP exams and classes.

I took BC Calculus last year but I didn't take the exam. I think I'm supposed to take the exam this year. I also signed up for AP Statistics for some reason. :tongue: Right now I'm taking an advanced-undergraduate-level modern algebra class, and I have self-studied real analysis, topology, and linear algebra at the introductory graduate level. I will be taking grad-level classes in the above subjects at NCSU starting this Fall, so I will have a lot of documented grades for my math. Is it necessary for me to take these two exams, just because they are part of some kind of standard curriculum? Isn't the beauty of homeschooling the *flexibility* of the curriculum? :biggrin: Neither of these tests help my overall math education in any way. Should I refund and get some of that money back?

Thanks.

Physics news on Phys.org
Tests aren't to help you. Tests are a cop-out method of easily acting like you're evaluating students when precedent, lack of tenure, and the student to teacher ratio are prohibitive of getting too creative.