Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Start of expansion of universe

1. Sep 16, 2014 #1
    I have been wondering for a few years if the current equations for the expansion of the universe have ever been used to extrapolate back in time, to determine how many years ago, the rate of expansion was zero. I believe this amount of time will not agree with the accepted age of the universe. Does anyone here know if this seemingly simple calculation has been performed? (I'm a geologist, and a little lazy :), and most importantly, not a math wiz, so I'm trying to avoid having to attempt it myself)

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 16, 2014 #2

jedishrfu

Staff: Mentor

Welcome to PF!

I'd suggest you read up on it first before asking this kind of question:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Big_Bang

You're making the assumption that time is linear and absolute for the universe as a whole whereas the current view is that time began with the big bang and that we can't know what occurred before it.

If you look at the image you can see that the universe went through an extreme expansion within a very small time period:

800px-History_of_the_Universe.svg.png

4. Sep 16, 2014 #3
    No assumptions made. In fact, you seem to assume that such a back extrapolation would extend before the "Big Bang". I believe the extrapolation would be dramatically fewer years ago than when the "Big Bang" is theorized to have occurred. I think most astrophysicists are afraid to do this extrapolation, because it may just blow their minds!

5. Sep 16, 2014 #4

Drakkith