Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Statics Problem - I've been out of school too long.

1. Oct 12, 2006 #1
    Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Simple representation of the problem is the analysis of the forces and reactions of a table with a non-centered weight on it. I am seeking the reaction forces at the four legs.

Specifics...
    Table width - 48"
    Table length - 72"
    Table height - 36"
    Total weight of table and load is 250 lbs.
    C.O.G. of all weight is...
    x=32" (width)
    y=26" (length)
    z=28" (height)

I need to determine, from this loading, how much force each of the four legs exerts on the floor.

I have summed forces, summed moments, and come up with 3 equations and four unknowns. How can I get to the answer?

Thanks in advance for any efforts to show me how to do this. I have an ME degree but please make no assumptions of prerequisite knowledge. I'm afraid it has been long forgotten. Please spell it out for me if you can.
    MW

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 12, 2006 #2

NoTime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

How do you know where the C.O.G. is if you can't figure out the rest of the problem?
    Are the legs at the corners or inset?

Why not just scrounge up some bathroom scales.
    Put one under each leg.

4. Oct 13, 2006 #3

PhanthomJay

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

The table, asumed bolted to the floor, is stable with just three legs. With 4 unknowns, you need to do a deflection analysyis and superposition, just as you would have to do if you had a beam in 2D supported on 3 supports. Best to get out the bathroom scales.

5. Oct 17, 2006 #4
    Interesting problem. You need another equation. There are many ways to sum up the moments. You can sum the moments about the diagonals also if you haven't already.

6. Oct 17, 2006 #5

PhanthomJay

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member