Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Strange question about an AWD hand car

1. Feb 8, 2012 #1
    Hi all! I'm new here. I'm a mechanical engineering student at ODU and I'm designing a hand car. Yes, like the ones that ride on train tracks. This is being designed for the Santa Rosa California Hand Car Regatta and will be pedal powered. The HCR is part art show/part drag race and I'm building it to race. My question is: is there any mathematical advantage to having the car be AWD vs RWD or FWD. There will be 2 riders and I'm thinking of setting one up to power each axle. All other calculations are being made regarding material, thicknesses, stresses and what not to minimize weight and maximize speed, but I don't know how to calculate what the best drive configuration would be. Consider that either setup will require the same parts and weight. Thanks for any help!
    -Justin

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 8, 2012 #2
    Anybody? Mathematical formula for which will transfer more power over short distance AWD or RWD is all I'm really asking for.

4. Feb 9, 2012 #3
    Only if you have issues with traction.

5. Feb 9, 2012 #4
    Otherwise the axles can be considered mechanically coupled by the rail.

6. Feb 9, 2012 #5
    Okay. Thanks. Now as a follow up, because it will be pedal driven via a chain, for weight distribution purposes would it be best to minimize chain length and position a driver at each end and operate via AWD? My concern that if weight is evenly distributed via RWD that would require placing both operators at the center of the car, but that would increase power loss due to a longer chain. Both operators are of similar weight. Again, any help is greatly appreciated.

7. Feb 9, 2012 #6